If you Like Sports, Bill Simmons’ Next Project Will be Your Favorite Website, I Guarantee it

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bill Simmons, in association with ESPN, announced the first wave of writer and editor hires for Grantland.com, the much anticipated sports and pop culture web site. Conceived and led by Simmons – the most popular writer on ESPN.com and host of the No. 1 podcast The B.S. Report – the site will be home to every Simmons column and podcast and feature an accomplished and diverse lineup of the Internet’s leading writers and editors. With Simmons as editor-in-chief,Grantland.com is scheduled to launch in June with a mix of original columns, long-form features, blog posts, and podcasts. The name of the site honors the legacy of Grantland Rice, the legendary sportswriter who helped elevate sports into American culture during the early 20thCentury. 

Consulting editors to the site will include: 

  • Chuck Klosterman, a best-selling author of books, a former columnist for Spin,Esquire and ESPN.com, and a feature writer for New York Times Magazine, EsquireGQand Spin. Chuck will be writing about sports and culture exclusively for Grantland.com; 
  • Malcolm Gladwell, the international best-selling author of The Tipping Point, Blink andOutliers and a feature writer for The New Yorker since 1996;
  • Dave Eggers, founder and editor of the independent publishing house McSweeney’s and bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize finalist for his memoir A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius.

In addition, Grantland.com will feature the following writers:

  • Michael Weinreb, author of the much-acclaimed books Bigger Than the Game andGame of Kings, as well as a feature writer for ESPN.com’s E-Ticket and GQ;
  • Katie Baker, a contributor to the New York Times Magazine, Deadspin, Gawker, and Mediaite.com, who worked for Goldman Sachs for six years before deciding to write full-time;
  • Molly Lambert, a popular blogger and most recently the managing editor of This Recording;
  • Chris Ryan, who has written about soccer for GQThe Village Voice, and the Wall Street Journal;
  • Robert Mays III, an award-winning feature writer, who most recently worked at the Boston Globe;
  • Bill Barnwell, managing editor of Football Outsiders and a statistical consultant for Major League Baseball, who has written for The New York TimesThe Wall Street Journal, and ESPN The Magazine.
  • Patrice Evans, creator of The Assimilated Negro (TAN) blog and author of the forthcoming book Negropedia. He has contributed to The New York Times, Gawker,EbonyJet.com and other major outlets.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s