LOL With Geno — “Free Man”

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Funny, LOL With Geno
Tags: , ,

This new addition to our blog comes from our buddy Geno Andrews with his weekly comedy sketch LOL With Geno, please continue to support us by also visiting his website and by downloading his podcast. 

 

Years ago when I was in my twenties I was invited to go on a river rafting trip in Colorado. Just me and sixteen lesbians. Thatʼs funny, but itʼs no joke. A good friend of mine had come out of that lifestyle but still remained incredibly close with these gals. Every year they take this trip, and to my knowledge Iʼm the only man who was ever invited. My friend said, “Oh you guys will love Geno, heʼs great, heʼs funny and heʼll really fit in.” I was honored to find out that I was voted on the island, but to this day Iʼm still flummoxed by what she meant by ʻheʼll really fit inʼ.

Never the less, there we all were one night, by the campfire, sitting around drinking and partying and I started telling jokes. I don’t know if it was the crispness of the Colorado But more than just a joke, Iʼll share with you a quote that I think is cool, or a story that Iʼve heard, and hopefully give you a reason to keep coming back for more of my two cents, a weekly joke and a bit of laughing out loud in this seriously comic world we live in.

When I got home I actually grabbed this little black calendar book and wrote down eighty punch lines. Since then Iʼve probably added another forty or fifty.Over the years Iʼve flipped through this book from time to time to keep the punch lines fresh in my mind. If you know me, you know that quite often Iʼll hear a story and Iʼll say, “Which reminds me of a joke.” And the truth is, now that Iʼm starting this little series, itʼs my intention to bring you a new joke, once a week, that will have you laughing out loud, or at the very least should put a smile on your face for the week. Now hereʼs fair warning, not every one of these jokes is totally clean, or even politically correct. But as I was growing up most of the fun I had involved getting a little dirty.
But more than just a joke, Iʼll share with you a quote that I think is cool, or a story that Iʼve heard, and hopefully give you a reason to keep coming back for more of my two cents, a weekly joke and a bit of laughing out loud in this seriously comic world we live in. 

This woman wakes up in the middle of the night and rolls over to find her husband isnʼt in the bed. She puts on her robe and goes downstairs and finds him sitting at the kitchen table, staring at a calendar on the wall. “Honey, are you alright?” she says. He kind of snaps out of a trance and says, “Yeah, yeah.” He said, “Do you remember when we first started dating?” She smiled and said, “Yes of course.” He said, “Do you remember the first time your dad walked in on us when we were doing it?” She smiled a bit embarrassingly and said, “Yes.” He said, “Did I ever tell you what he said to me?” She said, “No. What did he say?” He said, “Son, you have two choices. Either you marry my daughter, or you go to prison for the next twenty years!” She thought about it and said, “And so?” He stared back at the calendar on the wall and said, “Iʼd have gotten out today…” 

One of my favorite quotes these days was a comment made by Henry Ford. He said, “The man who stops advertising to savemoney, is like the man who stops a clock to save time.” Advertising is expensive, and sometimes weʼre forced to cut back. Butdonʼt let that be an excuse to stop promoting yourself. Weʼre all doing life, and thereʼs no time-outs. Time marches on and if you want to impact the world around you, you have to keep up with it, the world needs to know youʼre there. Which reminds me of a joke…

You can find more from Geno at:

http://www.lolwithgeno.com/

and on iTunes at:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/laughing-out-loud/id368096407

Leave a Reply

